Police Academy: 816.604.6700
What does “700-hour Academy” mean?
The MCC-Blue River Police Academy provides 700+ hours of Class A certification instruction which, upon completion of the Academy, will allow you to work in any county in the State of Missouri and most counties in Kansas with which we have reciprocity.
What are the hours of the Academy?
- Day Academy (approximately 4 ½ months):
M-F, from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with an occasional evening or Saturday class, to fulfill required training set forth by POST and/or in the event of inclement weather. Full-time Academies are offered twice a year – one beginning in January and another one beginning in August.
- Night Academy (approximately 8 ½ months):
M-TH from 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m., and Saturdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (approximately two Saturdays on and one Saturday off), with an occasional Friday evening to fulfill required training as set forth by POST and/or in the event of inclement weather. The part-time Academy is offer once a year, with classes beginning in August.
What is the age requirement for the Academy?
You can attend the Academy at age 20. However, by state law, you cannot be certified to take the POST Exam until you are 21 years of age. The State test is a demanding, 200 question test.
The application says I must provide my birth certificate. What if I cannot find my birth certificate?
If you live in Jackson County, you can go to the Jackson County Health Department and they will print a certified birth certificate for you (there is a small fee for this). If you were born outside of Jackson County, you must apply to the State/County in which you were born. Many states allow you to order a copy of your birth certificate online.
The application says I must upload my transcripts and other documents. What if I have trouble uploading the required documents?
If you are having difficulties with your application you can call (816) 604-6700 or (816) 604-6652.
Do I have to buy my own firearms?
No. It is a Federal Offense to bring firearms onto a campus. We will provide training firearms for the class.
What if I have an SIS on my record?
Be sure to fill out and have notarized the legal questionnaire you will find in your Academy application packet. You will also need to submit a certified full police report with the officer’s narrative, all court reports and documents (including dispensation), and your own narrative of all offenses. These documents will be submitted to POST and, in conjunction with the Public Safety Institute’s Director, will make a judgment based on the facts of each case. POST evaluates each applicant on a case-by-case basis.
What do I do if I have a DWI on my record?
Effective September 1, 2003, POST will deny the basic training center application of any individual who has been convicted of “driving while intoxicated,” “driving with excessive blood alcohol content,” or “possession of a controlled substance” within three years of application. This shall include those offenses where the imposition or execution of sentence was suspended.
Do I get paid to go through the Academy?
No. This is a vocational training program that earns 36 college credit hours with MCC.
Do I need to have a doctor’s physical before I can enroll?
Yes, your entire application, including getting a physical, must be completed before you will be allowed in enroll.
Will financial aid cover this program?
Yes, if you are eligible. The financial aid process is the same as the MCC regular college courses. Fees are due before classes begin. Contact financial aid in the Education Center Building for more information.
Is there a payment plan?
Yes. Go on-line and log into your MyMCC account to make a payment plan or contact the Business office.
Where do we pay our fees?
At the MCC-Blue River Business Office in the Education Center Building or through Metro Link on-line.
Can I work while attending the Academy?
Yes, but due to the intensity of training it is not encouraged that you work over 15 hours a week while in the full time academy.
What is the deadline for returning the application to the Academy?
You should turn in the application as soon as possible to ensure that you have a seat in the upcoming academy.
Do I have to complete the degree plan?
No, you can attend the Academy only, which is a certificate program. However, it is a good idea to pursue the Associate degree plan, especially if you want to join a specialized unit within a police or sheriff’s department.
How much physical fitness training is involved in the academy?
You will have PT (physical training) three days a week. The physical training activities that are taught vary, but can include running, sit-ups, push-ups, etc. It is strongly recommended that you begin running prior to the academy start date. It is also strongly recommended that you begin working on sit-ups and push-ups prior to the start of the academy. You will also have frequent DT (Defensive Tactics) training, which requires vigorous physical exertion and movement.
Frequently Asked Questions are available for download, along with entrance requirements for the Police Academy.