Police Academy: 816.604.6700
Steps to Apply to the Police Academy/Certificate Program
All applicants must meet the MCC prerequisite guidelines in Step 1 before completing a Police Academy application :
STEP ONE – Must be completed before applying to program!
- Must be at least 20 years of age (NOTE: You must be at least 21 years old to take the POST exam and be an officer in the state of Missouri);
- Become a student at MCC - Apply Now.
- Complete the placement test for English and Reading, and/or submit official transcripts to the Student Data Center.
- All applicants must place into English 101 and Read 100, or
- Successfully complete English 101
- Placement tests and ACT test scores must be within 3 years from the start of the academy.
- Complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
- Request Official Transcripts
STEP TWO – Must be completed before enrollment
- Apply to the academy.
- Click on Apply to "Day Police Academy" or Apply to "Night Police Academy" above.
- Submit all required paperwork.
- Schedule and Interview with the Chief of Training – Police.
- Turn in Legal Questionnaire with supporting documents (submitted to Chief of Training at the time of Interview)
- Police Report with Officer’s Narrative
- Certified copies of all court documents with the dispensation
- Your typed and signed Personal Narrative
STEP THREE - Enrollment (Only students who receive an acceptance letter are eligible to enroll)
- Meet with an Academic Advisor to Enroll
- Meet with Financial Aid
- If new student, attend START session
STEP FOUR – After Enrollment
Peace Officer Standards and Training (Post) Requirements
The Missouri Department of Public Safety’s POST Program may deny you entry into the Police Academy for violations of Chapter 590RSMo and Department of Public Safety Code of State Regulations.
- Must be 18 years of age (11 CSR 75-13.020).
Note: You must be 21 years of age to be certified as a peach officer.
- Must be a citizen of the United States (11 CSR 75-13.020)
- Possess a current, valid Driver License.
- Must not have been convicted of “driving while intoxicated” “driving with excessive blood alcohol content” or “possession of a controlled substance” within 3 years of the date of application (590.100.0 and 11 CSR 75-13.090).
- Must not be unable to perform the functions of a peace officer with reasonable competency or reasonable safety as a result of a mental condition, including alcohol or substance abuse (590.080.1).
- Must not have committed any criminal offense, whether or not a criminal charge has been filed (590.080.1).
- Must not be under indictment for, or charged with, or have been convicted of the commission of any felony (590.090.1).
- Must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence (Gun Control Act of 1968).